Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

10 December 2018

Book Review: 'The Man with the Golden Gun' by Ian Fleming (Reblog)

Many people know a lot about Bond movies. 

What about the Bond books?





  • "Casino Royale" was the first Bond book published in 1953. 


  • After that, Ian Fleming, the creator of James Bond, wrote a book a year. This brilliant writer died of a heart attack in 1964. That's a little over ten years!! 

  • Bond novels were published between the years 1953 – 1966. 

It is not often that I come across a review of one of the Fleming books. Lots of movie reviews but not book reviews. 


Reblogging/Sharing a link to a book review of "The Man with the Golden Gun" from The Friendly Shelf.  It might tempt to want to READ all of Fleming's original books. :)




****

Bond Novels by Publication Date:


- - Info Reference: literary007.com Includes book summary and related blog posts.
- Aug 12, 1964: James Bond creator Ian Fleming dies. Read full article at history.com
- The Best James Bond Novels: Ranking the Fleming Originals by “Jeff” at bookriot.com
- Obviously, great info can be relished at the official website: James Bond | Ian Fleming Publications










AUDIOBOOK
The Man with the Golden Gun
The Man with the Golden Gun



30 August 2018

Book Review: THE DEPOSIT SLIP (Reblog)

Reblogging. Excellent book review by Cynthia Rodrigues Manchekar, a member of the Authentic Blogger Group on Facebook. One of my friends is a die-hard John Grisham fan and her one-liner summary review for this particular book was a hook! She described it as: “A courtroom drama that just might depose John Grisham .” Had to know more!



This is debut novel for author Todd Johnson. Here is a striking statement from her review that peaks your interest: “... Todd has shown enough talent here to depose John Grisham as the reigning king of courtroom dramas. … Because Todd is a Christian author, there's more to The Deposit Slip than the pursuit of justice alone. There is also the need for forgiveness and reconciliation ...”


Love courtroom drama? 
Then this should be an addition to your reading list.

Book Review: THE DEPOSIT SLIP | A few drops of ink






John Grisham - on the Screen


Here are scenes from various movies adapted from a Grisham book. Do you recognize the film?












16 February 2018

Ten Plus One Books Worth Reading - Fox's Picks

Borrowed this idea from another blog post. Listing 10 books plus the Book, that in my humble opinion are worth reading. Some of them are books for kids but recommended for adults who still eat sugary cereals when nobody's looking. Picture books, in particular, are quick and easy reads, often fun, and sometimes very profound!!




* * *



  • (3)  The World of Steve Ditko
  • (4)  Brothers in Arms
If you like biographies.
* * *
For fans (like me) of Jane Yolen or students of ancient China.

* * * * * * * *
 


The Phoenix rising from the ashes is a myth. However, the American bald eagle is real and almost became extinct. But now the eagle soars again!

* * * * * * * *
 


Urban fantasy is rising to the top of popular book genres.
* * *

  • (8)  Shipwrecked: Tang Treasures and Monsoon Winds
  • (9)  Island of the Lost: Shipwrecked at the Edge of the World
  • (10) Shipwreck: A Saga of Sea Tragedy and Sunken Treasure

Mysteries revealed. True stories of ships lost at sea. (SPOILER: None of them were attacked by pirates.)

* * * * * * * *
 



BONUS!  Final suggestion:  The Book aka The Bible.  More specifically?

04 December 2017

Unstoppable Me! and Other Childrens Books by Dr. Wayne Dyer That Empower Children

Published a review and recommendation of "Unstoppable Me" via HUBPages.com and rated it on Goodreads.com.

Empower your children.  

If you like this book, you might also like the other two suggestions as well.


 

Unstoppable Me!: 10 Ways to Soar Through Life 

By Dr. Wayne W. Dyer



No Excuses
Incredible You


* * * * *

Unstoppable Me!: 10 Ways to Soar Through LifeUnstoppable Me!: 10 Ways to Soar Through Life by Wayne W. Dyer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Elementary school teacher recommended the book for my daughter. It was enjoyable. Written in a poem and easily understandable for a young child. Motivating and good for character or personality development. Published review at HUBPages.com http://cmoneyspinner1tf.hubpages.com/...

*View all my reviews on Goodreads







09 August 2017

Book Review: Prince Iggy and the Kingdom of Naysayer (Reblog)

  • nay·say·er [ney-sey-er] (noun)
    a person who habitually expresses negative or pessimistic views.  Origin: 1715–25


Always enjoy reading a good picture book as a pick me up. I'm really 8 years old at heart. :) Reblogging this.





***

08 July 2017

The Death Game: Book Review by Chris Longmuir

Found the link below because it was shared in a Writers, Readers, Researchers & Reviewers Group on Facebook.  I prefer historical romance novels myself but the reviewer seemed to be really enthusiastic about this historical mystery.  It has peaked my interest in exploring other historical mysteries.

The Death Game by Chris Longmuir | wendyhjones





Related articles

10 June 2017

Book Suggestions: Political Thrillers by F. C. Etier

On November 7, 2012, with the official publication of a political thriller entitled The Tourist Killer, Frank C. "Chip" Etier added - Published Author - to an already impressive list of accomplished career objectives. The novel is a fast-paced thriller with political overtones, conspiracy and intrigue. The main character, Claudia Barry is "The Shooter", a female professional assassin, who is about to retire. But before she can complete her last assignment, close out a 30-year career and fade into the sunset, she just has to answer a simple question: Can a leopard change her spots?


Finding the answer to the question may prove to be somewhat complicated.

Blogcritics.org states that "The Tourist Killer is a strong first novel by a promising author." Other reviewers have described this book as: "exhilarating", "intense", "surprisingly good", "electrifying", "a refreshing angle". But you know you've got a really satisfied audience of readers, when they start hinting about what a great movie it would be.  Mr. Etier shared a snippet of his novel as his weekly contribution to the Weekend Writing Warriors project.

The Presidents Club
A Weekly Serial Novel by Chip Etier


Mr. Etier ended 2012 on a positive note with the release of his first book and brought in the new year of 2013 with his second novel, The Presidents Club, which is being presented as a weekly serial novel by Venture Galleries, a publishing house that promotes the works of independent authors. The novel will soon be available on Amazon as an e-book and a trade paperback. Soon!


Future Projects?
An Interview of Mr. Etier About His Next Career Move

The Phoenix is the writer team of Lee and Gary Jordan. The Jordans also interview authors and publish book reviews and interviews at their Phoenix Book Review Site. On January 10, 2013, they shared their conversation with Chip Etier. He discussed a little about his background - his birthplace, Louisiana; his various career paths (pharmacist, artist/photographer, writer); and mentioned that his writing influences range from Dr. Seuss to John Grisham. (That's quite a range.) He then concluded the interview by responding to questions about what led him to write the two novels, and his plans to write more.

You can tell by the tone of the interview that Mr. Etier is a very humble guy and perfectly content to live with Bob (aka Miss Bob), his "drop dead, gorgeous" wife in the Great Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. So the interview gives no indication that he's even thinking along these lines. But the fact that Mr. Etier has successfully published two outstanding thrillers should come as no surprise to anyone who has ever read anything he has written. Why not place him side by side with Sir Arthur Conan Doyle? If people are already raving about converting his first book, The Tourist Killer, into a blockbuster hit; then might as well consider adapting The Presidents Club into a TV miniseries. Maybe plans are in the works and he's just keeping it hush hush. Then again maybe he hasn't been approached on the subject. Not yet! :)

Content first published at Seekyt, Oct 2013



* * *
ATTN STUDENTS!   Sell back text books and other books used for personal reading. Get paid fast through direct deposit! Free shipping! 

SellBackBooks.com




Stuffed Leopard - $28.95
A soft cuddly sitting plush leopard from the Realistic Plush collection at Wild Republic. 14 Inches Tall.

14 March 2017

Book Review: The Signature of God (and Other Book Reviews)

Wrote some book reviews a few years back. 

Here is the link to my first (and actually my favorite; published 2013 via HUBPages.com).  

In case you liked this recommendation, supplied a quick list of some of my other reviews/suggestions for worthwhile reading.

* * *

How do we know that God wrote the Bible? Simple! He signed it!

Book Review: The Signature of God by Grant R. Jeffrey


The Handwriting on the Wall - St Benedicts Catholic Church | Source: Wikimedia Commons


● ● ● ● 

  • A wonderful book for children written by Miska Miles, which was published in 1971: Annie and the Old One.




  • If you like true stories, mysteries that are finally solved, and ever wondered about ships that set sale and then disappeared - here are four books about Ships Lost at Sea that tell the tales.





The Seven Kings of Rome

The Seven Kings of Rome

There was once a group of villages on seven hills which grew into an empire. But how did it happen?
If your curiosity is peaked by this brief presentation of the history of ancient Rome and want to learn more, you will find two book recommendations at the end of the article.




17 December 2016

The Chocolate Lady's Book Reviews: Five (or seven) GOOD things to come out of 2016 (Reblog)

Happy to reblog and share this Featured Post from a fellow blogger, Davida Chazan, who is a "Go To" person if you're searching for good reads. Here is her suggested reading for 2016:

The Chocolate Lady's Book Reviews: Five (or seven) GOOD things to come out of 2016

Her reviews and other writings are so good I invited her to contribute to my group board on Pinterest: Freelance Writer. We crossed paths because we both contribute short posts to a site called "Daily Two Cents".  This site has a revenue-share plan for those who have a Google Ad Sense account and allows you to earn 100% of your commissions, if your post includes an affiliate referral link.  It's reasonable.  Don't you think?  This is the link to her DTC profile: drchazan aka Chocolate Lady.
(This is my DTC author profile, if you're interested: cmoneyspinner, if you're interested.)


Book lovers will probably appreciate her faves lists for previous years too!

Chocolate Lady's Favorite Books of 2015

Chocolate Lady's Favorite Books of 2014

Chocolate Lady's Favorite Books of 2013




I love her blog's tagline.  It reads:

  • Davida Chazan's Blog for mostly book reviews and literary musings (and maybe some chocolate). 

What a hook!  So of course I had to find something chocolate at her blog.  Found it!

The REAL Chocolate Wars


The REAL Chocolate Wars

It's all because of Ms. Brenner's writing style. Ms. Brenner brings even the very mundane into the world of extreme interest. She makes much out of the intrigue so that although it's really economics, it's still interesting. She works her way around marketing so that it's suddenly as moving as a love scene.

Interested in Self-Employment or Work at Home Opportunities?

Freelance Work ♦ ♦ Work From Home Advice, Tips & Tricks ♦ ♦ Get Paid to Test Apps ♦ ♦ Hiring for Social Media Jobs

My Blog Stop! is my primary home business and personal blog, sharing my advice for work at home professionals, opinion pieces and general topics of interest, and product suggestions for those who love to shop! This collection includes shares from My Blog Stop!, my main blog, AND posts from my other blogs, my content shared via social blogging communities, and my articles contributed to online writing communities.

About Me

My photo
Work-at-home professional since 2007.

Treathyl Fox aka Cmoneyspinner – Home Business Entrepreneur.  Think. Dream. Focus. Believe in yourself? Hire yourself! Be your own boss! Do it! Self-employed and loving it!   ♦ DISCLOSURE: In compliance with FTC rules and guidelines, be advised that some links shared via my G+ post stream  (or at my websites and blogs) might contain affiliate referral links which means commissions might be earned if product sales resulted from your click-through to the vendor’s website.

Search This Blog?

Custom Search