Showing posts with label movie reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label movie reviews. Show all posts

14 April 2018

Friday or Saturday Night Movie Pick: Children of Heaven (1997)

"Children are our daily reminders of what the inhabitants of heaven are like. Pure souls. Free spirits."

(And you can quote me on that.)


My movie pick for a Friday or Saturday night. My reasons why? These reviewers say it better than me.


  • "'Children of Heaven' is very nearly a perfect movie for children, and of course that means adults will like it, too. ... To see this movie is to be reminded of a time when the children in movies were children and not miniature stand-up comics." ~ Roger Ebert


  • "Parents need to know that Children of Heaven is a beautiful, Oscar-nominated Iranian film that's both a fascinating story of contemporary Iran and a universal coming-of-age tale." ~ Brian Costello


  • "... director/writer Majid Majidi’s film has the simplest plot imaginable. ... Majid cannot be praised highly enough for painting an insignificant event and turning it into a work of cinematic beauty." ~ Kevin Flynn

Image credit:  waytooindie.com




http://amzn.to/2d0Hm8D

FYI.  The opening statement above is in quotes, but I'm quoting myself.  I said that.  It didn't come from the movie.


* * *



03 December 2017

Movie Versions : Annie or Annie? Finney or Foxx?

Always used to read the comic strip about Little Orphan Annie as a child. Saw the movie version “Annie”, released 1982 which starred two of my favorite actors, Albert Finney and Carol Burnett. Very much enjoyed it and would recommend watching it. Can't believe this film already celebrated its 20th anniversary!

 

By contrast: Never saw the film remake version with Jamie Foxx, released 2014. But it's a musical too. [ Watch trailer for Annie (2014) ] Mike Carter publishes a movie review blog called Back Seat Viewer / Movie Reviews and he thought they “did really good with the update while giving plenty of respectful nods to the original material”. Based on his review and recommendation you might want to put this family-friendly flick on your watchlist or in your video library. 


♦♦♦♦♦♦







More at My Blog Stop!




24 November 2017

Cool Tumblrs : Movie Reviews Written as Haiku Poems

Found the most amazing entertainment blog! On my list of Cool Tumblrs, this blog ranks Numero Uno!! In fact, this blog is Number One no matter what platform it's published on.  

The publisher writes movie reviews in haiku. 




Takes quickie movie reviews to another level.  Right?  This person should have a segment on one of the entertainment TV shows where they come on at the last minute and recite their movie critique/poem for a new movie release.  It would only take 2 or 3 minutes.


The post archive dates back to 2005.  Even found a few movies that I never heard.  The only thing that could blog even better would be to include foreign films, i.e. not made in America or not made by Americans.


Here is the link to the haiku of a Johnny Depp movie that everybody was raving about.


  Black Mass | Review in Haiku





♦♦♦♦♦♦



 

♦♦♦♦♦♦



19 November 2017

Movie Review: Flame of Stamboul (1951) (Reblog)

An alternative title for this blog post could be:  "Welcome to the World of Double Oh!"  Check out Double O Section, a blog for reviews of all things espionage like this 1951 movie.

"After the defeat of Germany at the end of WWII (and the end of the Forties spy classics that went with it) and before James Bond came along, most spy movies were simply crime movies with exotic settings. But as the Cold War warmed up, a few managed to subtly buck the trend in the 1950s, in some ways presaging the direction the genre would go in the Sixties, following 007's explosive cinematic debut. Columbia’s B-programmer Flame of Stamboul, directed by Ray Nazarro and starring the future governor of Hawaii Richard Denning, is surprisingly such a film. ..."






This blog's first post is dated October 2006 and is titled simply "List"; "a Top (double-oh) Seven list of people in the world of fictional spies to keep an eye on."  Interesting list.

It's 2017 and this amazing blogger is still publishing posts. Sharing the link below to the latest post.




18 October 2017

2,500 Movies Challenge | Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid (1982) (Reblog)

I love old movies. On the hunt for a recommendation and came across this movie review of "Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid" (1982) starring Steve Martin (of "Saturday Night Live" fame). This blog is published by "Dave" and he plans to review a total of 2500 movies. This reblogged movie review is Number 1060. It was posted in 2010. As of June 2014, he was still posting! So much for setting yourself an achievable goal.


2,500 Movies Challenge:
Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid


FYI. Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid is available as an Amazon Instant Video.



Sunday, June 11, 2017
#2,367. A Night to Remember (1958)
Almost there!






Wednesday, Oct 18, 2017
#2,442. Fear, Inc. (2016)
Almost there!










13 October 2017

JACK AND DIANE: Saturday night movie pick? Watch at your own risk.

OK. OK! I get it! It's an awful movie. I'm convinced. Not gonna watch it. Not into horror movies anyway. Growing up, every Saturday AFTER 11 o' clock was the night to watch creepy scary horror movies. It wasn't a rule of my parents. It was a television programming decision made by our local stations that we all abided by. These days, occasionally, like if it's the Halloween season, a horror flick will be on my watch list. If a thorough critique and review of a horror film is needed, this is was my GO TO blog, "Written in Blood". Everything you need to know about horror films and some stuff you didn't even know you needed to know! Glad to have this blog to help me decide whether my time will be wasted or not. :)  Saturday night movie pick?  Watch at your own risk.

The blog publisher's review of this film was sort of like my review of NOAH (2014).  That movie was awful!  So bad you feel compelled to warn viewers in advance.

* * Apologies.  The blog owners decided to unpublish his blog.  Movie is available on Amazon Video, if interested.


Saving grace for the viewer?  Hmmm? On the plus side, neither movie was bad enough to ruin the joy of munching on a bowl or a box of buttered popcorn



JACK AND DIANE 


Related articles



09 October 2017

Halloween Movie : MANIAC COP (1988) ~ What's on Your Watch List?

Definitely out of the loop on this one. There's a Maniac Cop one, two and three, and I have yet to watch the first one!  It's a "late '80s urban horror/action" film and for me, the idea of a crazy cop is for real scary!  It's not at the top of my watch list.  But it is on my list.

Do you have a watch list of movies for Halloween?




Other Halloween Movie Suggestions:















26 August 2017

Movie Review : The Day After Tomorrow (2004)

For fans of Jake Gyllenhaal. Not sure how old he was when he starred in this film. Looked like a teenager. When this movie was released, remember listening to a review by one of the critics that made me laugh. Not his exact words but basically he said:

“This is a typical storyline. Something devastating or catastrophic is going to happen on earth. And of course, the one who knows what it is, what to do, and tries to warn others is the very person that nobody listens to!!



So! What's going to happen is there is going to be a drastic change in the weather and there will be freezing cold temperatures; so low that people will die. Or, if you believe in cryogenics, they'll be instantly frozen, not die and perhaps they can be thawed out later. If the earth still exists, that is.

(Watch the movie trailer.)

Watched this movie and don't want to spoil it for those who may not have seen it. (Although you might guess through the "hints" woven in between the lines of this discussion.)

For me, there was only one memorable scene in the movie. Naturally, I would remember it because “I Heart Libraries”. There is a group of people in a room in a library. It's getting really cold! They have to do something to stay warm. They're in a library! So! They start burning books. They're not discriminating. They're just grabbing any book within their reach and throwing it in the fireplace. They get ready to grab this one book and the man holding it to refuses to let it go!

He goes: “You're not burning this book!” Then he spills out his various reasons why “The Book” must not be destroyed.

While some are debating with him and about to struggle to take the book away from him, someone else yells out that they have found an alternative set of books that no doubt everybody (at least every American) would love to burn! This is not one book. It is a set and has volumes upon volumes upon volumes. The group consensus is: "Yeah! Let's burn those!!"

To me, that scene was hilarious and very realistic. You could almost visualize that scenario actually happening in real life. Particularly if you're a U.S. taxpayer, you know the thought of burning the U.S. Tax Code has probably crossed your mind at least once.

My Unofficial Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars.  I'm being generous.


Published at MyLot, September 21, 2015 12:42pm CST

14 July 2017

Asian Cinema : Movie Review : The King of Masks (1999)

The theatrical masks of Chinese opera were promoted by emperors and high court officials. As a result, they became a traditional art form and along with this tradition, came other traditions. 



Many films are gems that get lost or buried. Even award-winning films like The King of Masks. It's a foreign movie: Mandarin Chinese with English subtitles.

Time period is the 1930s. A master of an ancient Chinese art is growing old. He must pass on his skills to an heir. A male heir.
It's tradition!

Unfortunately, he's childless. In a desperate effort to honor the custom and maintain the trade and the tradition, he buys a young child. In China, poor children are often sold via a black market. He and the child develop a close relationship, however, a “complication” also develops.


"The King of Masks

is a wonderful and touching story. 









Interested in Self-Employment or Work at Home Opportunities?

Freelance Work ♦ ♦ Work From Home Advice, Tips & Tricks ♦ ♦ Get Paid to Test Apps ♦ ♦ Hiring for Social Media Jobs

My Blog Stop! is my primary home business and personal blog, sharing my advice for work at home professionals, opinion pieces and general topics of interest, and product suggestions for those who love to shop! This collection includes shares from My Blog Stop!, my main blog, AND posts from my other blogs, my content shared via social blogging communities, and my articles contributed to online writing communities.

About Me

My photo

Treathyl Fox aka CmoneyspinnerHome Business Entrepreneur. Self-employed and loving it!   Real Estate Investor. Purchase/resell private notes secured by real estate, and acquire real estate through creative financing techniques. ♦ Blogger - Blogjob, Blogspot, LiteracyBase, Food Ways.  ♦ Freelance writer / Articles - Niume, Wizzley, HUBPagesWritedge, Daily Two Cents, PersonaPaper. ♦ Affiliate MarketerGrocery & Gourmet, Feng Shui - Home & Garden, Health Insurance, My Shopping Channel, Webnuggetz - The Other Shopping Channel. ♦ Randomness Over-blog, MyLot

♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦

~ DISCLOSURE: In compliance with FTC rules and guidelines, be advised that some links shared via my G+ post stream  (or at my websites and blogs) might contain affiliate referral links which means commissions might be earned if product sales resulted from your click-through to the vendor’s website.

Search This Blog?

Custom Search

Need to Search the Web?

Custom Search